Alumnae Awards Presentation Assembly 2022


This year’s Alumnae Awards were presented on Monday 28th November during our annual celebration of the RHS Spirit that is inspired by our alumnae.

Every autumn since 2016 Royal High School Bath Alumnae Network presents four awards to promote and inspire in current students the characteristics of friendship, kindness, dedication, community spirit and academic endeavour that make up our alumnae family, otherwise known as ‘RHS Spirit’.

It was wonderful to be able to welcome our guests in person and we were delighted to be joined by: alumna Daphne Hemingway (BHS 1982); Miss Lynda Bevan, Governor and President of Royal High Bath Alumnae Committee and Network; Richard Hall, Chair of Governors; and our Head, Kate Reynolds, who kindly presented the following awards, all nominated and voted for by staff from across the school:

The Sarah Williams Red Squirrel Award

The Red Squirrel Award was instigated by a group of Bath High alumnae in memory of their friend, alumna Sarah Williams (BHS 1982), who sadly passed away in 2015 from cancer. The award is given to a girl in Year 8-13 who has shown spirit, courage, support for others, kindness and loyal friendship.

The nominees for the 2022 award presented by Ms Daphne Hemingway, parent and alumna (left BHS 1982), were:

  • Eleanor Blackwall
  • Lottie Osborn-Hughes
  • Olivia Phillips
  • Kitty Tanner Wardle
  • Sophie Morris
  • India Gardner
  • Darcy Baker

Winner: Darcy Baker, Year 8 - Darcy is a super engaged member of the school community who has supported all members of the tutor group by organizing sport teams and volunteering to be part of all initiatives. She is willing to be our form leader and share news with the rest of the group via Teams.

The Hilary Williams Award for Dedication

The Hilary Williams cup is awarded to a girl in Year 8-13 in recognition of exceptional dedication in her approach, either to schoolwork and activities or to something extra-curricular.

Hilary Williams attended Bath High from 1948 to 1963, and then studied Psychology at St Mary’s College, Durham University. Following her studies, she became the first female governor of a male prison and take on senior management roles at companies like Mobil Oil, Hays Consulting, and British Gas. As the most senior female at British Gas at the time, when Hilary was on the cusp of being made the first female Director, the business was suddenly restructured, and her promotion vanished. Having successfully sued British Gas and helped change laws regarding discrimination, Hilary went on to become the Chief Executive of Girl Guiding UK and took on numerous media appearances whilst being a member of several women’s business networks, holding a non-executive position for Bath’s RUH and volunteering at her local guide group in Bath.

Hilary was a hugely committed member of the alumnae committee and was Chair for 15 years. At her funeral in 2015 she was described as a people-orientated and inspirational leader with vision, who had her feet firmly on the ground and who relished achieving results through others by encouraging, empowering and supporting. Something for us all aspire to.

The nominees for the 2022 award presented by Miss Lynda Bevan, President Royal High Bath Alumnae Committee and Network, and Governor, were:

  • Chhaya Mistry
  • Megan Ong
  • Rosie Enderby
  • Jess Lewis
  • Anastasia Slastikova and Erin Wilkinson
  • Isla Mills
  • Elianah Odim-Ofor
  • Bea Pillow
  • Liv Greenwell
  • Senen Dobson
  • Imogen Orr

Winner: Chhaya Mistry, Year 13 - Over the past 2 terms (Summer & Autumn) Chhaya has run the Ultimate Science Club for Y7 & 8 students. She has planned all the activities, liaising with the Science Technicians over the resources required, and then led the activities, which have been thoroughly enjoyed by all of the students. Chhaya has also helped to run the Graphics Club.

Alumnae Network Award for Continued Academic Endeavour

This cup is awarded to a girl in Year 8-11 in recognition of continued academic endeavour. Reminiscing about his own school days and the importance of striving for success whatever your ability, Mr Hall, Chair of Governors, announced that the nominees for the 2022 award were:

  • Kashuf Rehman
  • Lola McIntyre
  • Ettie Harrell
  • Emelia Parsons
  • Chessie Gresford
  • Seren Davies
  • Tilly Hitchcock

Winner: Kashuf Rehman, Year 11 - Kashuf simply does nothing less than her absolute best across the board achieving impressive results

Alumnae Network Junior Cup for Services to the School Community

The Alumnae Network Junior cup is awarded to a girl in Year 12 who is a committed and enthusiastic member of the school community who gives her all and is a role model to others, based on her time from Year 7 to Year 11.

This year’s nominees, presented by Kate Reynolds, Head, were:

  • Famille Gwenzi
  • Pelagia Beekma

Winner: Pelagia Beekma, Year 13 - Pelagia was nominated for her outstanding contributions as a house prefect and her inspiring participation in the Bath Youth Parliament.

Huge congratulations to all our fitting winners and thank you again to our guests for presenting this year’s awards. We are of course ever grateful to our alumnae for their support and look forward to seeing what further endeavours they provide our girls with inspiration for in the years ahead!

Alumnae awards 2022 cropped